Skip to main content

John R. Clarke Lectureship

The John R. Clarke Lectureship

The Clarke Lecture was initiated by President Chris Tzarnas and Fellows of the Philadelphia Academy of Surgery to recognize John R. Clarke for over 20 years of dedicated service to the Academy, from 1995 through 2015, as Secretary, Vice President, President, and the Academy’s first Executive Director. Subsequent to this honor, Dr. Clarke endowed the lecture to annually support speakers for the scientific program. In addition to serving as President and the first Executive Director, Dr. Clarke has given the Annual Oration and was awarded of the Samuel D. Gross Prize.

John R. Clarke, M.D.

Presenters of the John R. Clarke Lectureship


Dr. Geeta Lal, Carver College of Medicine, University of Iowa- "Ergonomics: what every surgeon needs to know"


Dr. Patricia L. Turner, University Chicago Medical Center - "Managing and Leading Systemic Change in Turbulent Times"


Dr. Julie Ann Sosa, University of California San Francisco - “Finding New Solutions to Old Challenges with Evidence and Courage!"


Dr. Mary Hawn, Stanford University - “Big Data: Promises and Pitfalls"


Dr. Lillian Kao, University of Texas at Houston - “Learning Healthcare Systems: Empowering Surgeons to Move the Needle"


Dr. Caprice Christian Greenberg, University of Wisconsin - "Surgical Coaching"


Dr. Margaret “Gretchen” Schwarze, University of Wisconsin - “Managing Uncertainty: Using the Power of Scenario Planning for High-Stakes Surgical Decisions"


Dr. Rachel R. Kelz, University of Pennsylvania - “The New Surgeon Product"